Competence Center for Material Moisture (CMM)

History

 

2001-2004


How it all began …

What do five scientists, a civil engineer, a geoscientist, a high-frequency electronics engineer, a mathematician, and a physicist, have in common? In 2001, this group of scientists worked on the question: How can moisture of soil, rock, and other materials be measured not only relatively, but also absolutely? And with an appropriate resolution and accuracy?

Moisture of material is not only a characteristic parameter, but decisively induces or controls the material behavior in the geosphere, environment, and technical applications. In joint projects, these scientists first focused on the further and new development of sensors on various scales.

 

2004-2007


The Soil Moisture Group (SMG)

Inter-departmental cooperation of scientific institutions in Karlsruhe and Mannheim was institutionalized by a framework agreement on scientific cooperation in November 2004, the partners being Karlsruhe University, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (today's Campus North and Campus South of KIT), Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences, and Mannheim University of Applied Sciences. Eventually, the Soil Moisture Group (SMG) was established.

From 2004 to 2007, this group grew significantly thanks to cooperation with various institutes of what is now the KIT. Apart from sensor research and development, the portfolio covered research into fundamental aspects of the interaction of water with solids and transfer of the results to practice.

 

2008-To date


Competence Center for Material Moisture (CMM)

The extended portfolio of the SMG and the defined objective of establishing in the long term an interdisciplinary research group in the area of moisture measurement finally resulted in the foundation of the Competence Center for Material Moisture (CMM) in January 2008 under the direction of Rainer Schuhmann.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Leitung

Dr.-Ing. Rainer Schuhmann

 

+49-721-608-2-3787
+49-721-608-2-6639
Kontakt

 

Historie

 

2001-2004


Wie alles begann…

Was verbindet fünf Wissenschaftler – einen Bauingenieur, einen Geowissenschaftler, einen Hochfrequenzelektrotechniker, einen Mathematiker und einen Physiker? Im Jahr 2001 bewegte eben diese Gruppe die Frage: Wie kann man die Feuchte von Böden, Gesteinen und anderen Materialien nicht nur relativ, sondern auch absolut messen? Und das mit einer der zu lösenden Fragestellung entsprechenden Auflösung und Genauigkeit?

Die Feuchte von Material ist nicht nur ein charakteristischer Materialparameter, sondern induziert bzw. steuert auch entscheidend das Materialverhalten in der Geosphäre, in der Umwelt, sowie in technischen Anwendungen. In gemeinsamen Projekten beschäftigte sich die Gruppe zunächst mit der Weiter- und Neuentwicklung von Sensoren auf verschiedenen Größenskalen.

 

2004-2007


Die Forschergruppe Feuchtemesstechnik (SMG)

Ihre interfakultative Zusammenarbeit über verschiedene wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen in Karlsruhe und Mannheim wurde mit einem Rahmenvertrag zur wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit im November 2004 zwischen der Universität Karlsruhe, dem Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (heute Campus Süd und Campus Nord des KIT), der Hochschule Karlsruhe sowie der Hochschule Mannheim institutionalisiert und mündete in der Gründung der Forschergruppe Feuchtemesstechnik (Soil Moisture Group-SMG).

In der Zeit von 2004 bis 2007 hat sich diese Gruppe durch Kooperationen mit verschiedenen Instituten des KIT stark vergrößert. Neben der Sensorforschung und Sensorentwicklung wurde das Portfolio um die Forschung zu grundlegenden Fragestellungen zur Interaktion von Wasser mit Feststoffen sowie der Umsetzung der Resultate in der Praxis erweitertet.

 

2008-Heute


Das Kompetenzzentrum für Materialfeuchte (CMM)

Das erweiterte Portfolio der SMG und das gesteckte Ziel eine interdisziplinäre Forschergruppe auf dem Gebiet der Feuchtemessung langfristig zu etablieren, mündete in der Gründung des Kompetenzzentrums für Materialfeuchte (Competence Center for Material Moisture – CMM) im Januar 2008 unter der Leitung von Rainer Schuhmann.