Competence Center for Material Moisture (CMM)

DgKA - Durable Constructions in Karlsruhe: Influence of Moisture on Buildings and in Particular of Aqueous Road Salt Solutions on Bridges in Winter

 

In the management of buildings, i.e. structural engineering, underground, and engineering constructions, lifecycle assessment is gaining importance. Durable buildings that do not require any reconstruction during their calculated lifetime are not only financially advantageous for the owners.

The project “Dauerhaft gebautes Karlsruhe” (DgKA, Durable Constructions in Karlsruhe) is aimed at verifying this approach by using infrastructure facilities of the city of Karlsruhe as examples. Criteria and process flows for lifecycle assessment are to be developed (quality management) in order to meet the durability requirement. Monitoring of physical parameters, e.g. penetrating moisture, is to be achieved by using adequate sensors.

In cooperation with the city of Karlsruhe, TAUPE cable sensors were installed into a bridge for cyclists and pedestrians crossing the B36. They are to indicate the effects of moisture, e.g. salt-containing spray whirled up by passing cars, on the concrete material and iron reinforcement.

The project is designed as a long-term experiment and has been conducted since 2008 without any damage and disturbances. Further applications in public buildings are planned.

Kompetenzzentrum für Materialfeuchte

DgKA - Dauerhaft gebautes Karlsruhe: Einfluss von Feuchtigkeitseinwirkung auf Bauwerke, besonders von wässriger Streusalzlösung auf Brücken im Winter

 

Die Bewirtschaftung von Bauwerken – sowohl im Hoch-, Tief- und im Ingenieurbau – wird immer mehr nach der Lebenszyklus-Betrachtung beurteilt. Dauerhafte Bauwerke, die tat-sächlich während ihrer berechneten Lebenszeit sanierungsfrei existieren, bieten dem Bauher-ren/Eigentümer nicht nur finanzielle Vorteile.

Das Projekt „Dauerhaft gebautes Karlsruhe“ (DgKA) will diesen Ansatz am Beispiel von In-frastruktur-Bauwerken der Stadt Karlsruhe verifizieren. Zudem gilt es Kenngrößen und Pro-zessabläufe für den Lebenszyklus zu entwickeln (Qualitätsmanagement), die der Forderung „Dauerhaftigkeit“ genügen. Die Überwachung von physikalischen Parametern, z.B. eindrin-gende Feuchte, soll mittels geeigneter Sensoren durchgeführt werden.

In Kooperation mit der Stadt Karlsruhe sind in einer Radfahrer- und Fußgänger-Brücke über die B36 in Karlsruhe TAUPE-Kabelsensoren eingebaut, welche die Auswirkungen von ein-dringender Feuchte, z.B. im Winter durch von vorbeifahrenden Fahrzeugen aufgewirbelte salzhaltige Gischt, auf das Betonmaterial und die Eisenarmierung anzeigen.

Das Projekt ist als Langzeitversuch angelegt und läuft bereits seit 2008 schadens- und stö-rungsfrei. Weitere Anwendungen in öffentlichen Gebäuden sind in der Planung.